I Stand with Westminster and Muslims

The terrible events that happened on 22nd March 2017 at the Palace of Westminster have left me feeling numb. How anyone could so callously mow down innocent people and kill one of the very brave police officers that works at the Palace is completely beyond me. The brave men and women that were there were just going about their daily business and did not deserve to be taken in such a cold and evil manner.

If you are not aware, up until two years ago I used to work at the Palace as a Personal Assistant to a Member of Parliament, so because of this, this horrifying series of events has hit very close to home for me. I used to walk the grounds of the very place that all of this happened on a daily basis. I love that place with all my heart and miss it all the time. I am crying as I write this.
I have to say that I am personally thankful that I was not there on that fateful day. To witness what happened in person would have been soul-destroying and my heart goes out to anyone that had to see it unfold.  I know several people that work in Parliament and am so very thankful that none of them were hurt in this attack.

I have been completely and utterly disgusted at some of the comments that I have read on social media about all of this. Are people right to be angry? Of course they are. It would be worrying if this hasn’t filled you with rage. What is not acceptable is that they are directing their rage at an entire race and religion. What one despicable person has done does not represent a race or religion and if you are in any way a sane human being, you are already aware of this.  If you are insistent on blaming all Muslims for this tragedy then you are nothing but a racist. It’s pretty simple.

I would like to pay my respects to PC Keith Palmer, who was so viciously taken from this earth for daring to show up to work and do his job. Throughout my five years of working in Parliament, I came to know so many of the wonderful officers that work there. Whilst PC Palmer was not someone that I met, I knew many of his colleagues and my thoughts are with them. I would also like to pay respects to Kurt Cochran and Aysha Frade who perished on Westminster Bridge. A 75-year-old gentleman has also passed away. At the time of writing, his name is not known.

I would also like to extend a massive thank you to Tobias Ellwood MP for so bravely trying to save PC Palmer’s life. I applaud, you, sir.

Mrs Helfy

xxx

3 thoughts on “I Stand with Westminster and Muslims

  1. Oh wow I had no idea that you used to work there! I hope nobody you knew was severely hurt.
    I’m so glad you wrote this post although it sounds like it was tough. I hope you’re ok xxx
    I think what Tobias did is amazing! He was my local MP and I met him many times, even (kind of) interviewed him so I remain stunned by his bravery. What man is capable of during emergencies is incredible!

    The Frugal Teen | http://thefrugalteen.wixsite.com/thefrugalteen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comment. What we have to try to focus on is the people like Tobias that helped instead of the awful acts committed that day. You are so right in that man is very much capable of such amazing things when such situations arise. X

      Like

Leave a Reply

