Mrs Helfy’s Bucket List

When I posted my first blog post, I said that not everything on here was going to be doom and gloom… and now I’m writing my Bucket List. Morbid, right? Well, actually, it’s not quite as morbid as it might seem.

We only have a very short amount of time on this planet and I am a strong believer in making the most of it. What I have found when writing this list is that I have discovered that I have done a lot of really exciting things already in 20+ years of being on earth. (I’m 24… OK 25… oh fine 26… OK let’s just stop there and say late 20s and leave it at that. STOP PRESSURING ME.) Having depression can often make you think that you are a complete waste of space and that you haven’t achieved anything with your life. Well I’m here to tell you (and myself) that you have achieved a LOT. Whether it is buying your own place, or getting those grades you needed for uni, or simply getting up in the morning when all you wanted to do was stay there and sob  (which is alright as well, might I add… sometimes it is just necessary)… these are all achievements. We need to stop comparing ourselves to others as a measure of success. Just because one person has that perfect house, spouse and 2.4 kids (or in my case, cats), it does not mean that you are not successful because your life is playing out differently to theirs.

What does all of this have to do with my Bucket List? Well, it’s pretty simple really. I want to give myself something to aspire to. I want a reason to keep going; to keep getting that satisfying sense of pride when I achieve something great.

So, here it is: my Bucket List.

1. Read ‘The Lord of the Rings’
This seems like a pretty odd place to start, but it was the first thing that popped in to my head! I’ve always meant to read the books as I really enjoyed the films.

2. Travel to India
I have always wanted to visit India but the flights are pretty pricey. I need to start saving!

3. Have children
This may surprise some people who know me, but I really do want to have children at some point. I blame one of my best mates for having the most unbelievably adorable little girl with the cutest little squishy cheeks! And to my kitties: no, you will not be replaced. You’ll still be my furbabies.

4. Have grandchildren 
What could be even better than having children? Well having grandchildren of course! You get to spoil them and then hand them back at the end of the day. 

5. Earn over £30,000 per annum
This is very materialistic of me and pretty self-explanatory!

6. Earn over £40,000 per annum 
More materialism. Yay! Money means I can buy more Iron Fist shoes. This makes me happy.

7. Travel to Morocco 
Morocco is another place that has always been on my list of places to visit. It seems like somewhere that there would be loads to do and see.

8. Travel to Paris as an adult 
I have been to Paris a few times as a child but feel like I need to go again as an adult so that I can properly appreciate its beauty. No, not just so I can go to Disney…

9. Visit all the Disney parks 
Alright, fine, I lied. It has a lot to do with going to Disney again. I LOVE DISNEY. There’s something just incredibly magical about going to a Disney park that is not comparable to anything else. Being there just overwhelms you with intense euphoria  (maybe they put drugs in the water, who knows).

10. Kick anxiety and depression in the butt 
I’m not quite sure why this one is so far down the list. I want to achieve this more than anything else. One day this will happen for me. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

11. Buy a really flash car 
Materialism again. Yay!

12. Have a back piece tattoo done 
I am obsessed with tattoos. I only have four at the moment but I want so many more. I really desperately want a back piece but just need to make a final decision on what I want.

13. Open and run a successful business 
It has always been my dream to run a pub, a restaurant or a club. I want to know what it feels like to have people come to your venue and willingly spend their own time and money on something you have created. That would be an incredible honour.

14. Attempt a food challenge 
Have you heard of ‘Man vs Food’? Or maybe seen a challenge in a restaurant that goes something along the lines of, “Eat this 64oz steak in 30 mins and get your name on our wall”? I’ve always wanted to do one of these. I actually contemplated making my blog solely about this, but then I realised that I probably should work out if I can actually do a single challenge before dedicating an entire blog to something I might not achieve! In the meantime, you should check out Beard Meats Food. He’s currently my favourite competitive eater.

15. See Michael McIntyre live
That guy is just hilarious!

16. Order room service 
I don’t know why, but I’ve always really wanted to do this!

17. Own a camper van 
There’s something really appealing about being able to just jump in a camper van and zip off anywhere at any time and pull up somewhere for the night. Freedom! 

18. Go to the Fat Duck
Heston Blumenthal is one of my culinary heroes. I have always wanted to go to his fabulous restaurant. The trouble is, I currently can’t justify spending that much.

19. Go to Iceland 
The country, not the supermarket.

20. Go to Budapest
Yet another travel-related item on the list. I really need to get out and see more of the world!

21. Visit Rome 
I am absolutely desperate to see the sights of this beautiful city.

22. Visit Auschwitz
This is something that I believe that everyone should experience if they are able to. We should never forget the horrifying tragedies that took place here. With Trump in power, we are at risk of this happening all over again.

23. See the Northern Lights 
This is an incredibly cliché thing to have on my list, but I don’t care. I couldn’t not have it on here.

24. Swimming with dolphins
Another cliché! Wow, I’m so original… 

25. Cage-diving with sharks 
This one is a little scarier than the dolphins one. I’ve always been fascinated with sharks and would love to get up close to them. Not too close, though. I’ve seen Sharknado. It doesn’t end well.

26. See Lady Gaga live
Lady Gaga is my queen and I adore her. Enough said.

27. See the Egyptian pyramids
It’s gotta be done at some point!

28. Open up a cat shelter
As the name of the blog might suggest, I am obsessed with cats. I can’t think of anything that I want to do more than open up a shelter for cats.

 29. Take a ride on the Bluebell Railway
If you aren’t aware, the Bluebell Railway is a train line that runs steam trains between Sheffield Park and East Grinstead in the counties of East and West Sussex, England. It’s quite iconic and something I’ve been meaning to do ever since I moved to this part of the world.

30. Take a ride on the Orient Express
Pretty self-explanatory really. I just need to save up for this one as it’s pretty pricey!

So there we have it. 

That is my Bucket List! What’s on yours? Let me know!

Mrs Helfy 
xxx 
Leave a Reply

